Underage Drinking and Consumption

In Pennsylvania, “underage drinking” includes more than just consuming alcohol. According to the Pennsylvania Criminal Code (18 PA CS § 6308) the “underage drinking” statue prohibits anyone under 21 from attempting to purchase, purchasing, consuming, possessing or knowingly and intentionally transporting any liquor or malt brewed beverages.

If you are charged with underage consumption, it is critical that you consult an experienced attorney immediately. If you plead guilty to underage drinking, it will be on your record for at least five years.

Penalties

First time underage drinking conviction:

  • Up to 90 days in jail (though jail time is rare)
  • A fine of up to $300, plus approximately $120 in administrative costs
  • Driver’s license suspension for 90 days, and/or qualifying for Occupational Limited License which allow driving for work
  • OR an alternative punishment option: community service, alcohol education classes, or another punishment the judge feels fit

Second offense:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • A fine up to $500, plus approximately $120 administrative costs
  • Driver’s license suspension for 12 months

Third third offense:

  • Up to 90 days in jail
  • A fine up to $500, plus approximately $120 administrative costs
  • Driver’s license suspension for 2 years/24 months

Can my underage drinking conviction be expunged?

Have you also been charged with disorderly conduct?

Facing DUI charges? Call us today!

With the help of a qualified and experienced DUI attorney, you can be assured that your legal rights will be fought for and protected. Mark Walmer has extensive experience protecting people against DUI convictions and will fight for your rights, too. To contact us, either call or email info@lancasterduiattorney.com.
Mark Walmer